pasterorlando.blogg.se

Connect to docker ip
Connect to docker ip





connect to docker ip connect to docker ip

Of course, it relies on an implementation detail (the default gateway happens to be an IP address of the Docker host) which might change in the future.Īnother way is to use the Docker API to retrieve that information. In other words, a clever parsing of ip route ls | grep ^default might be all you need in that case. One way is to rely on the fact that the Docker host is reachable through the address of the Docker bridge, which happens to be the default gateway for the container. some API or database that would be running straight on the host), you have to figure out the IP address of the host. If you want to connect to a service running on the host (any kind of service, e.g. There are multiple ways to address that, depending on what exactly you want to achieve. Distribution of credentials and more complex structured data that doesn't fit into environment variables. Exposing things from ec2 meta-data service would be nice. The Motivation, for this feature includes various meta-data services. Note, if using ip-gateway to call docker host is the "right way", can't we document it?įor those looking to find the gateway ip from container /proc/net/route is probably the right place to read it. Or maybe the thing I found doesn't expose my communication to the public? Like said I'm no network wizard :) Or if security is a concern another loopback device that always has the same ip. I still would prefer a way to call from docker container to host through the loopback and appear as 127.0.0.1 on the host. And whilst hostname might work better in production, they are hard to use locally. I suspect that the gateway ip is static (once docker is started), can anybody confirm that?Ī alternative would be to pass my hosts public ip to the container using environment variables, but the public IP may not be static. Using the gateway for 0.0.0.0 from netstat -nr I certainly had no problems reaching a server running on my host machine. (Assuming one doesn't configure a bridge setup or something). Granted I'm not networking wizard, but isn't is fairly safe to assume that the ip gateway (from inside the container) maps to the host. I think the issue by bkad is finding the host IP from within the container. The inspect feature is used on the host-side to find the IP of the container, if I'm not mistaken. I don't see how this relates to the docker inspect feature. The title of this issues says: "How to connect to host from docker container". I'm sorry, if I'm keeping a die hard thread alive.







Connect to docker ip